Butternut Squash Lasagna!

Earlier this week, I made the most amazing lasagna I have ever made.  No seriously.  I was skeptical at first, but after tasting it, I don’t think I will ever make a different lasagna.   Butternut squash lasagna is going to be made in our house at least once a month, and once you try it, you will agree.

I am just going to let you know what I used, but feel free to add whatever you like for the fillings.  That’s the great thing about lasagna!  You can put whatever you want in it!

The best thing about this lasagna is that you can eat several pieces and not feel guilty!  Unless you eat the entire lasagna in one sitting and don’t share it with anyone!

Ingredients:

  • 1 small butternut squash
  • 15 ounces of tomato sauce (now you can go the super easy route and just get a jar of pizza sauce, or you can take your tomato sauce and season it with basil, parsley, and oregano.   It’s your choice, but either way, it will turn out great!)
  • 1/2 pound of browned ground meat (I use turkey)
  • 1 red bell pepper cut into small pieces
  • Fresh spinach
  • Caramelized onions
  • Mozzarella cheese
  • Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

The first thing you need to do is prepare your squash.   I have yet to figure out a way to peel this squash without fear of cutting a finger or two.  Guess I need to do it more and get a better handle on that, but until then, this is how I do it.  I first cut off both ends, and then I stand it up and slice off the outer skin.  I know that there is a better way to do this, because when I do this, I end up making it look like a 3 year old tried to do it.  The squash is not smooth, it is beat up and there are bumpy edges everywhere.  😦  OH well.  Even if your squash looks like this after you peel it, it doesn’t affect the taste at all.  🙂

After you scoop out the seeds, cut the squash in half.   To make the lasagna “noodles”, you will need a julienne slicer.   You could make the noodles by slicing them directly off of the squash, but then you have to worry about not cutting off your finger and making sure that they are of equal width so it cooks evenly.    I also liked using the slicer because it made it go by quicker.  🙂   Depending on the size of baking dish you use, will determine how much of the squash you need to slice.  I used an 8×8 glass baking dish.

After you get the squash sliced, meat browned, bell pepper or whatever else you want in your lasagna prepared, you can begin putting it together!  I like to put some sauce on the bottom of the dish before my first layer.   Then start layering noodle, sauce, meat/veggies, cheese and repeat until you have reached the top of your dish.

Butternut Squash Noodles

I got about 3 complete layers before I ran out of room.

IMG_1730

I wish I had fresh mozzarella.  That would have made this even better!  I only had the bagged shredded cheese.   It was still fantastic, so don’t count the bagged cheese out!

Once your lasagna is assembled and the oven is heated, bake it for 30 minutes.   I actually baked it for 40 minutes.  I do not recommend doing this.  I checked it at 30 minutes, cheese was bubbly and starting to brown.   My plan was just to leave it in for a few extra minutes, which turned into 10 minutes….and cheese was browned all right.  Not burned, just browned all over.  Don’t do what I did.   Take it out after 30 minutes.   Let it sit for a few minutes and then cut and serve!

I wish I had an after picture to show you.  But I was so hungry that I just put a piece on my plate and ate it without thinking!  When I make it again I will edit it back into this post.   This also makes great leftovers!  I took it to work the next day and all of my coworkers wanted some!

Hopefully you enjoy this lasagna as much as I do!  I can’t wait to hear how your butternut squash lasagna turns out and what you put in it!

Leave a Reply

