Paleo Pecan Waffles

My mother and I would always have a special dinner when my stepfather would go away on business.  It was waffles and bacon for dinner!   My mom was great at making waffles.  She spoiled me and would put chocolate chips in them.  Yum!

When I was in high school, I could eat whatever I wanted and never gain a pound.  That was because back then I was playing two sports and was running who knows how many miles a day.  But now I have a full time job, and sometimes getting to the gym a couple times a week is hard because of other commitments that I have.   I still want to enjoy one of my favorite high school meals but not have the guilt of eating something that is probably not that good for me.

Over the past year, I have been experimenting with several different waffle recipes trying to find a healthier and tasty recipe that would satisfy my waffle cravings.  I finally found it!

This past Christmas I got the cookbook Against All Grain by Danielle Walker.  Normally I shy away from recipes that contain coconut flour because I do not like the texture it has when it is cooked.   I am so glad that I tried this recipe anyway!  It is fantastic and I think you will enjoy it too!

Pecan Paleo Waffles

  • 3 eggs
  • 1/2c coconut milk (almond milk works great too, I have used both of them and waffles still come out great!)
  • 3 tablespoons honey
  • 3 tablespoons melted coconut oil
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1c raw cashews
  • 3 tablespoons coconut flour
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2c chopped pecans

Place all the ingredients except the pecans in a food processor and blend for about 1 minute.  The author recommends using a high speed blender, but I have not had a problem with using my food processor.  The batter may look slightly grainy but it does not have an impact on the taste or texture of the cooked waffle.  After your batter is made, stir in your pecans and pour batter onto your heated waffle iron.   Cook for about 1 minute or until golden brown.

When compared to waffles made with regular flour, these are a little more difficult to get out of the waffle iron.  They don’t stick to the iron, but they have a soft fluffy texture instead of the expected crispy waffle.  I have just turned the waffle iron upside down to get it off instead of stabbing it with a fork and lifting it off.

If you don’t like pecans or have a nut allergy, you can put whatever you want on the waffles!  Chocolate chips, fresh fruit, or even sprinkles!  These waffles go great with whatever addition you want.  Even the plain waffles are tasty!

These healthy and tasty waffles are sure to became a family favorite!  I can’t wait until my mom comes to visit us so I can make her breakfast like she did for me growing up!

Paleo Pecan Waffles

Leave a Reply

