Sweet Potato Pizza Crust

I love pizza.  I could eat it probably two times a week.    I had to find a way to make it better for me so I didn’t feel so guilty when I would eat it.

I actually haven’t made this recipe for a while.  At work, I was talking to one of my patients and we started talking about our love of food.  We talked about our favorite creations and this recipe came up.   I went and printed it off for my patient and said that they couldn’t wait to try it.  Even though I can’t tell you the details, this patient touched me in so many ways.  This patient has been incredibly strong and has gone through a lot.   I dedicate this post to this special person.  Thank you for allowing me to be a part of your care.   I wish only good things for you in the future.

Now on to the good stuff!  The recipe!   I found the original recipe online, but have changed several things to where it fits my taste better.   Hope you enjoy!

Sweet Potato Pizza Crust

  • 1 large sweet potato (mashed)
  • 1 egg
  • 1c almond flour (sometimes it takes 1.5c of almond flour, start with a cup and gradually add as needed)
  • 1tsp baking powder
  • 2tsp garlic powder
  • 1tsp onion powder
  • 1tsp oregano
  • 1tsp basil
  • 1tsp salt (I actually use seasoning salt.  Cuts down on some of the sweetness of the sweet potato)
  • pinch of pepper

First thing is to make the mashed sweet potatoes.  I boil my peeled sweet potato until it is soft when stuck with a fork.  When the potato is ready, make sure you drain the potatoes really well.  You don’t want excess moisture in the crust, it will take longer to bake.

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

I then add in all the spices to the mashed sweet potato.  I taste the mashed sweet potato mixture to make sure that I am happy with the taste.   You can always add more seasoning to it as your palate sees fit.

Once you are happy with the taste, then you can add in the egg and the flour.  Mix it until it is well combined.

Take your pizza pan (or a regular cookie sheet if you don’t have one) and put aluminum foil over it and spray with cooking spray.  Take your pizza crust “dough” and spread it over the foil until it is about 1/2 inch thick.

Before baking

Before baking

 

Next put it in your heated over for 25-30 minutes.  You want to make sure that the center is firm and the edges are lightly browned.

After

After

 

Once your crust is baked, assemble it like any other pizza!  When you have all of your toppings, place your pizza back in the oven until your cheese is melted.

IMG_1772

I have been told that I never put enough cheese on my pizza.  But that’s ok!  It is still my perfect pizza!

I have made this recipe for several of my friends who love it!  Although, my best friend’s four year old didn’t like so much.  So…I guess it isn’t kid tested?   But all of my coworkers keep wanting bites of my food, so it is grown up approved!

And to my special patient, if you are reading this, I hope that you have regained your appetite and are enjoying your sweet potato pizza!

Leave a Reply

