Spinach Chicken Rollups

Can you feel is?  Baseball season is beginning!  While my boyfriend is away at Spring Training, my mom has come up to stay with me.  🙂

We have continued our Mother-Daughter tradition of having waffles and bacon, and I got to make her my Paleo Pecan Waffles.   And it was a hit!  She couldn’t stop raving about them.  With that being a success, I had to make sure that I made something else to impress her.   Tonight I made my Spinach Chicken Rollups.    After one bite, she was hooked and you will be too!

Ingredients:

  • 4 small chicken breasts (or two large chicken breasts cut in half lengthwise)
  • 1c frozen spinach thawed out
  • 1/3c shredded mozzarella cheese
  • 1 caramelized onion (if you don’t like onions you can omit this and it will still be tasty)
  • 1 egg
  • 1c panko bread crumbs (I used gluten free and seasoned it with salt and pepper)
  • 1c marina sauce
  • 1/2c shredded mozzarella cheese

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

First step is to pound out the chicken so it is easier to roll up.  I bought some chicken from Sprouts and they were gigantic.  So I cut them in half lengthwise and it worked out better than if I used it whole.

Gather three bowls to be used for the preparing of the chicken.  In the first bowl put the thawed out chicken with the 1/3c of mozzarella cheese.  The second bowl put the egg and mix it up.  And in the third bowl put the panko bread crumbs.

Spinach Chicken RollupsFirst put the spinach/mozzarella mixture and the caramelized onions in the flattened chicken breast and roll it up.  Secure it with toothpicks.  Then dip it into the egg mixture and once coated with the egg roll it in the Panko breadcrumbs.  Place rolled up chicken in a glass baking container.

Once you have finished rolling up all the chicken, spray with baking spray.

Spinach Chicken Rollups

Put into heated oven for 25 minutes.  Once that is finished, spread out the marinara sauce on top and put as much or as little cheese as you like.   Put back into the oven until the cheese is melted, about 5 minutes.

Spinach Chicken Rollups

I have made this with a side of broccoli, pasta, or over quinoa.  It is very versatile.

Spinach Chicken RollupsDinner was a great success, and now we are going to go and try my first attempt at homemade ice cream.  Hopefully it will be just as tasty!

Leave a Reply

