Oodles of Zoodles!

I admit it.  I have fallen in love with zoodles!  Unfortunately, Trip will not let me call them zoodles at home.  😦  He makes me call it “shredded zucchini”.  So, whether we we are having zoodles or shredded zucchini, it is going to be a good meal!

They are super easy to make and it’s a great way to get vegetables into your meal.    The main thing you need is a spiralizer.  After talking to several of my friends and doing research, I bought a Paderno.   I got mine off of Amazon.  You can buy it off of other sites, but Amazon tends to have the best prices.

Now that you have your spiralizer, it’s time to make zoodles!

Ingredients:

  • 3 large zucchini squash
  • two pinches of fine sea salt
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • seasonings to your personal taste

 

Here is a video on how to use your Spiralizer.

I use the 1/8 inch blade to make my zoodles.   After you have made your zoodles, place them in a strainer in the sink.  Sprinkle the salt over them.  After I sprinkle it on top, I will toss them to make sure that all of the zoodles have some salt on them.   Let the zoodles “weep” for about 30 minutes.   It is important to do this so that you get the extra moisture out of them.  If you don’t do this, they will be soggy in the sauce.

 

Freshly made zoodles!

Freshly made zoodles!

After the zoodles have been drained of excess moisture

After the zoodles have been drained of excess moisture

When the 30 minutes are up, you can cook them right away or put them in the fridge to cook later.

To cook them, put them in a pan and heat up the olive oil on medium heat.  Then put the noodles in the pan and cook for about 10 to 15 minutes until they are cooked to your liking.

Making zoodles!

Making zoodles!

 

While they are cooking, I like to season them.   Typically I go with garlic powder and pepper.  I recently found this Bruschetta seasoning from Oil and Vinegar.  I loved this on the zoodles!

You can now add whatever sauce you want to them!  I will sometimes add a bit of the sauce we will be eating it with in the pan when they are cooking to infuse a bit more flavor into them.

Zoodles with grilled chicken and marinara sauce

Zoodles with grilled chicken and marinara sauce

 

While this doesn’t replace pasta entirely, it is a great way for people who don’t like vegetables to get them into their diet.

Hope you enjoy!

Leave a Reply

